May 24, 2018 from 6:00 PM–9:30 PM

Eno Leadership Awards Dinner

Hosted by Eno Center for Transportation

On May 24, 2018, Eno will hold its 26th annual Leadership Awards Dinner in Washington DC. The dinner is the culmination of Eno’s Future Leaders Development Conference (LDC). The conference gives 20 of the nation’s top graduate students in transportation a first-hand look at how national transportation policies are developed. Students apply to the program early in the year, and those selected as “Eno Fellows” come to DC for a week of meetings with federal officials and leaders of business and non-profit organizations.

This year Eno will honor three individuals with the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Wilbur S. Smith Friend of Eno Award, and the Eno Thought Leader Award.

2018 Award Winners


Matthew K. Rose, Executive Chairman, BNSF Railway

Matt Rose is the executive chairman of BNSF Railway Company after having served thirteen years as chief executive officer and eleven years as chairman– during which time BNSF became a Berkshire Hathaway-owned company in 2010.

In June 1999, Rose was made president and chief operating officer. For almost two years prior to that, he served as senior vice president and chief operations officer. Rose joined Burlington Northern Railroad (BN) in 1993 and held several positions in the Merchandise Business Unit. Prior to that, he held several positions in the trucking industry.  He holds a Bachelor of Science in marketing with a minor in logistics from the University of Missouri.

He also serves on the Board of Directors of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the Association of American Railroads, and AT&T.  He is a member of the Boy Scouts of America National Executive Board.


Carolyn Flowers, Americas Transit Practice Leader, AECOM and Former Acting Administrator, Federal Transit Administration

Carolyn Flowers joined AECOM in March, 2017 as Senior Vice President, Americas Transit Market Sector Leader with the responsibility for client and industry relations and coordinating business development in United States and Canada.  Prior to that she spent two years at the Federal Transit Administration as Senior Advisor and in the last nine months of her tenure she served as the Acting Administrator.  She participated in a 2005 international study project for the National Association of Sciences, sponsored by the Eno Foundation for Transportation Studies, as well as the executive development program sponsored by the Eno Center for Transportation Leadership.  Flowers is currently serving on the American Public Transportation Association’s (APTA) Board Executive Committee and is a graduate of the 2003 APTA Transportation Leadership Class.

She received a bachelor’s degree in History and Political Science and a master’s degree in Business Administration from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Management.  In 2007, she was recognized as the Tom Bradley Alumnus of the Year by the UCLA Black Alumni Association. The award is named for the first African-American Mayor of Los Angeles, a champion of public transportation for Los Angeles County. In 2008, she was named Woman of the Year by the Los Angeles Chapter of the Women’s Transportation Seminar. She also received the Ambassador award for her volunteer work with the American Stroke Association and was given a special recognition award by the Greater Los Angeles African- American Chamber of Commerce.


Robert Poole, Director of Transportation Policy, Reason Foundation

Robert Poole is Director of Transportation Policy and the Searle Freedom Trust Transportation Fellow at the Reason Foundation, a public policy think tank based in Los Angeles and Washington, DC.  He was among the first to propose the commercialization of the U.S. air traffic control system, and his work in this field has helped shape proposals for a U.S. ATC corporation.  In aviation security, Poole advised the White House and House Republican leaders on what became the Aviation & Transportation Security Act of 2001, enacted in response to the 9/11 attacks. He has authored a number of Reason policy studies on aviation security and is the author of a paper on risk-based aviation security for the OECD’s International Transport Forum.

He received his B.S. and M.S. in mechanical engineering at MIT and did graduate work in operations research at NYU. He has advised the Office of the Secretary of Transportation, the White House Office of Policy Development, the National Performance Review, the National Economic Council, and the National Civil Aviation Review Commission on ATC commercialization. He is a member of the Air Traffic Control Association and of the GAO’s National Aviation Studies Advisory Panel. In 2012-13 he was a member of the Business Roundtable task force on ATC reform, and in 2014-15 he was part of the Eno Center for Transportation working group on ATC reform.